The Sand Castle

A Lady Engineer in Afghanistan or Anywhere…

Happy New Year!

Happy new FISCAL year, that is.

October 1st, the start of a new fiscal year for most if not all of the US Federal Government.  Or should I say, the start of the next continuing resolution so we can all keep working and building things until the actual budget gets passed?  The craziness of fiscal year close-out began several weeks ago and will continue for those intimately involved in the process.  I have been there before, but not currently.

Today is special for us here at Bagram because we don’t have to wear our uniforms, we’re having a huge cook-out which will also feature some ethnic foods (like turkish pizza – yum!) then volleyball, cribbage and who knows what other activities.  There’s even a Texas Hold-em Poker Tournament this evening, a game about which I know essentially zero.

Oh yeah, we do have to work our half day, but still…  🙂

I’ll try to share pics of the event in a day or so – happy new year!

~~~~~~~

The setting sun colors the landscape of Bagram and distant snow-capped mountains, shown here from the top of one of “my” tanks.  Not sure of the height, but you have to climb sixty steps to get up there.  Neat-o.

1 October 2010 - Posted by | Deployed @ Bagram | , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Sounds like fun. I will look forward to seeing the pictures. Texas hold-um is a fun game. If the stakes are not too high. Try it.

    Comment by Betty Gueldal | 1 October 2010 | Reply

    • I watched it for awhile while my laundry was washing/drying and was totally confused, but I may sit in on it next time. They play for chips only – can’t imagine ever doing it for real money!

      I played a couple of games of cribbage though, and my partner and I won both. 🙂

      Comment by kimberlywarner | 1 October 2010 | Reply


Leave a comment