The Sand Castle

A Lady Engineer in Afghanistan or Anywhere…

Commuting in Paradise

img_0392

It took me nearly an hour and a half to get to the job site the other day, but since most of that time was spent on a catamaran I sure ain’t complaining.

While the primary modus transporti on Kwajalein is the bicycle, sometimes we have construction projects on other islands around the Atoll, hence rendering the Kwaj Bike useless.

So on this particular morning I walked with all my gear a couple 3 blocks over to the pier, went through security, boarded the catamaran.  Inside A/C, outside view.  The boat trip took just over an hour before arriving at our destination.

img_0412

Spent an hour or so reviewing the project and exploring a bit, met a bunch of people, had a meeting or 2, walked back down to the dock and got back on board.

img_0393

This was one of those days where I can’t believe I get paid to work here.  So thankful!

Heading back to Kwaj…

img_0432

19 March 2017 Posted by | Kwajalein | , , , , , , , | 6 Comments